Leaderboard - Extra Life Community Hub Jump to content

Hub Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 03/22/2018 in all areas

  1. 3 points
    Hello all, I've been video gaming for over nearly thirty years, collecting games and systems long the way: everything from classics like 2600, NES, SNES, Genesis, to more obscure systems like Virtual Boy, Pong clones, and the Astrocade. I've also been recently getting into tabletop gaming. While I've known about Extra Life for a few years now, this is the first time I'm trying to get involved. I'm also looking for some advice on running a large-scale event. I work at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia (you may know us from the Mütter Museum), and I am exploring the possibility of hosting an EL event at the College. We have tons of event space and I am eager to fill those spaces with games, all the better if it is for a good cause. I just wanted to get some advice/tips about hosting an event. I'm sure many people do them on their own or with groups of friends but have any of you host any kind of large-scale event? I'm excited to be a part of the cause. Even if I don't host something for work, I'd like to do something on my own.
  2. 3 points
    We definitely appreciate the cautious attitude and questions. Regarding how Extra Life functions, it is as we say, the hospital sees the entirety of the donations made to it's participants. The amount of the donation made to an Extra Life participant is always made to the hospital that they support! The fee is not deducted from the donation, but covered by Children's Miracle Network Hospitals. The $19 fee to upgrade your account helps offset the cost of the actual incentives you receive when you reach fundraising milestones (t-shirt, sticker, medals, etc). If you have any further questions or concerns your can see our financial information here: https://childrensmiraclenetworkhospitals.org/financials/ or send inquiries to support@cmnhospitals.org!
  3. 3 points
    Play Games. Heal Kids. Now to be perfectly clear, just playing games isn’t what is going to help the kids treated at your local Children’s Miracle Network Hospital. It’s telling your friends, family, coworkers and other community members about what you’re doing, why you’re doing it and then asking them to make a donation to your fundraising page in support of your efforts. Here are some tips & tricks to help you get started: Fundraising Tips & Tricks 1. Personalize your Extra Life Fundraising Page 2. Use the Extra Life Email Portal to ask for donations 3. Download the Extra Life Facebook and mobile apps There are also 1,000+ posts in our community forums of best practices that Extra Lifers from around the world are sharing and discussing with each other. Spend 15 minutes browsing the topics and I’m sure you’ll be able to find one that works for you. We're here to help you in your quest to save kids' lives through gaming! Let us know if you need any help at support@extra-life.org and a member of our crew will be in touch shortly afterwards. Thanks for all you do For The Kids, Mike, Liz, and Jeromy Team Extra Life Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Download the Extra Life Mobile Fundraising App! Manage and share your Extra Life experience on the go with our new Extra Life mobile and tablet app. This FREE app lets you fundraise and connect with others through SMS, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn & Email. You can update your Extra Life page and check your fundraising progress all from the palm of your hand. iOS | Android
  4. 2 points
    Hey All! Inspired by @herobyclicking's post http://community.extra-life.org/forums/topic/2625-seeking-big-hearted-gamers-for-spotlight-interviews/ I wanted to start this one asking what "Extra Life" tattoos or inspired tattoos do yall have? Or have seen?! Post! Post! Post! o/
  5. 2 points
    Victoria Enmon was an amazing little girl. She demonstrated love and compassion to others around her as much as she possibly could. Whether being thrown into the air at cheer leading practice or battling cancer, she never stopped supporting the people whose lives she touched. In the words of her parents, Vic and Jo Ellen Enmon, she flew. Today would have been Victoria's 27th birthday. "She wasn't afraid of heights. In fact, she wasn't really afraid of anything." - Jo Ellen Enmon At a little over 11 years old, Victoria was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia and it would be something she fought for the rest of her life. While she battled her condition, undergoing multiple transplants and treatments, she never let it break her spirits. Even while sick, Extra Life's founder, Jeromy "Doc" Adams recalls her as "the kind of kid you could hear coming before long before she got to your soundproof studio." It also never stopped her from giving all of herself over to helping people without hesitation. At Camp Periwinkle, a summer camp for children with cancer, one of her doctors holds onto the memory of her helping another girl suffering from both cystic fibrosis and cancer. That little girl needed extra help to get ready to experience camp each day, and throughout that week Victoria came to help. Victoria made sure that her fellow camper would get to have an unforgettable camp experience. No one asked her to, she just did it. As she entered what would be her final stay in a hospital, Jeromy Adams began working with Sarcastic Gamer to get her some games to help her pass the time during her treatments. The overwhelming response consisted of more games than her family could handle. Of course, Victoria started giving them away to other kids in the hospital. That impulse to give everything to those around her, that was just the kind of person she was. "You know, here she is, lying up in bed tubes connected to her. She didn't go and cry about it or bemoan her situation. She went around to all these other kids to make them feel better. I think that's really the legacy of her." - Vic Enmon From 11 years old until 15 years old, Victoria never stopped fighting, not even when she contracted a fungal infection due to her compromised immune system. She passed away on January 21, 2008, finally resting from her battle against leukemia, failed transplants, and infections. But that's not the end of her story. To keep her spirit alive and make sure that everyone knows how amazing she was, Jeromy Adams started Extra Life that same year. On october 13, 2008, over 1,200 people showed up to support children like Victoria. It has grown every year since and has now raised over $50 million to help sick and injured kids across the United States and Canada. One of Victoria's last wishes was to see Christmas lights. The final time he saw her, Victoria, her parents, and Jeromy all stepped outside to see the lights glow in the dark. "We were only outside for about 10 minutes. There wasn't a lot of talking. We just looked at lights," Jeromy remembers. Victoria isn't gone. She's become like those lights, shining brightly in the dark, touching more lives with comfort and love with each passing year. She's able to do that through all of us working to keep that fearless and caring spirit alive. Happy birthday Victoria. We're doing our best. For The Kids
  6. 2 points
    I joined Extra Life 3 years ago on a whim just to see if I could do the 24 hour gaming challenge. After that game day I got a message to join the local guild. I did that and from there found the twitch side of EL. I applied to become a mod and have met so many incredible people and have accomplished alot. It's done wonders for my mental health alone. But then last november I learned about Maddox. Maddox was a local teenager who had terminal cancer and wanted to do his own "game day stream" to help raise money. His goal was to be remembered as a champion and not just another kid with cancer. I, with the help of guild president Richard Moser (Yinz all know him, haha), got him up and running on Twitch. Along with the help of several other Extra-Lifers we were able to help Maddox raise over $16k, a record for our hospital. On my game day I had a donation incentive to get an Extra Life tattoo. Mid January Maddox bravely lost his fight and I knew what I wanted my tattoo to be. Maddox is why I Extra Life now. His Twitch name was MadGhost0821. AshleyAwoww, a stream team member, was the one who drew this up and I just got it on Friday.
  7. 2 points
    Hello everyone! This is my first post to the Extra Life community but I'm a long-time lurker and 3rd year Extra Lifer. This year my team is hosting the first-ever (that we know of) official Extra Life race on iRacing for game night. We're calling it the Extra Life 150 and it will be held at the Lucas Oil Raceway for the Late Model on November 3rd. Race details are below but entry into the Extra Life 150 is a $5 or more gift to my portion of our campaign at Extra-Life.org/participant/JoshCox. The race will also be broadcast live on the Full Throttle TV network! It is my goal to make this the official iRacing Extra Life event each year. So if you race, please come out and join us. We currently have 11 drivers signed up to run and would always love more! If you have question please feel free to contact me directly at joshwcox@gmail.com. Race Details · Car: Asphalt Late Model · Track: Lucas Oil Raceway (150 laps) · Weather: Night – iRacing Default · Set up: iRacing Fixed · Fast repairs: 1 · Cautions: On · Entry into the Extra Life 150 is a $5 or more donation to the campaign · Winner takes home $30 · Second place takes home $10 · Third-Fifth place takes home DJ3 Extra Life team swag · Cash prize are NOT awarded from donations collected. Donations are 100% tax deductible. Our sponsors will pick up the tab for the prize money. Race Schedule · Practice: 8PM ET – 1 hour · Qualifying: 9PM ET – 5 minutes/2 Laps · Qualifying session will be 10 minutes in length with the final 5 being devoted to the drivers meeting. All drivers should make their lap prior to the 5 minute mark. Any driver recording a time post-5 minutes will be given and EOL penalty before the green flag. · Drivers meeting: 9:05PM ET – 5 Minutes · Green Flag: 9:10PM ET
  8. 2 points
    Hey everyone! I just released a new version that allows you to do a test donation alert so you can see how it will look / sound in your stream when you're setting things up. In the new ExtraLifeHelper.html file, change the new testDonationSeconds value to something other than zero. When the Helper loads up, it will show a test donation that many seconds later. Don't forget to set it back to zero when you're done testing. Latest version is v2.2. and can be downloaded here: https://github.com/breadweb/extralifehelper @MaelstromALPHA, this is something you and others requested.
  9. 2 points
    Hey @thejennamonster! So sorry you have had some trouble! The website revamp DID move somethings around. You can edit the URL by logging in and going to "Your Page" > click the "Settings" tab just below your profile pic and thermometer > "customize" to adjust your URL. Let me know if this helps!
  10. 2 points
    Hello PDX Extra Lifers! I'm the new program director for Portland's Extra Life chapter and would love to get a guild started up again! Are you interested in helping? I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to reply to this thread or contact me directly. Let's get a kick-off meeting scheduled and brainstorm ideas on how we can raise $$ for kids fighting for their health at Doernbecher Children's Hospital. Let me know if you're out there! Erin Olinghouse olinghou@ohsu.edu Assistant Director of Development Doernbecher Children's Hospital Foundation
  11. 2 points
    Hey @Derek_Meyer, I believe you may be mistaken on what this forum is for. This is for tips about livestreaming via Twitch, Mixer, YouTube, etc.
  12. 2 points
    Hi everyone! The Extra Life Helper has been updated to work with the new Extra Life API. You won't notice a change as it is all under the hood. With that said, everyone needs to upgrade by July 16th before the old API is sunset. Previous versions of the Helper will stop working at that time. Here's the direct download. Please let me know if you have any questions or need any help. https://github.com/breadweb/extralifehelper/releases/download/2.1/ExtraLifeHelper-v2.1.zip
  13. 2 points
    Got this last Saturday as a belated birthday present to myself. Courtesy of Cottage 13 in Hamilton, Ontario.
  14. 2 points
    I forgot I even made the top 30 cut!
  15. 2 points
    Hey everyone! It’s Lizzy, your friendly neighborhood volunteer coordinator for the 2018 Extra Life fundraising season! As we quickly approach May, we are about to jump into our first major event which means we need your help supporting the Extra Life booth at Momocon 2018: Thursday, May 24 through Sunday, May 27. As before, those who volunteer to work a shift (no more than 5 hours max per shift), will receive a free full 4-day badge to the event so that you can experience all the Con has to offer when you are not manning the Extra Life booth. That includes access to all areas of the event including: Gaming Hall, Expo Hall, Main and sub stages, panels, classes and much more!! The only extra cost is for lodging, meals, souvenirs, and the Open World: Video Game Music concert. Just as last year, rather than just a table in the general organizations area, we are now part of the official MomoCon Charity Row section, complete with our own 10' x 10' booth!! We've got some great plans for the space, and I will be sharing those as we get closer to the event. We will be hosting a small meet and greet gathering the weekend prior to MomoCon where you can not only meet this year’s leadership team for the Atlanta Extra Life Guild, but also get some handy tips and tricks for volunteering as well as pick up your weekend badges. More detailed information regarding the meet and greet will be coming out shortly. If you are interested in volunteering, please click the link below to access the sign-up sheet. Please fill in as much info as possible so we have a way to contact you prior and during the event. Also, this is a first come first served event, and we have a limited number of passes available (16), so if you are interested you should sign up sooner rather than later! I will be onsite on and off throughout the event and always will be reachable by phone. I am super excited to meet you all and work with you throughout the year to make 2018 our best year ever #ForTheKids! Don't forget to come join us on both our official Extra Life Guild forums: http://community.extra-life.org/atlanta As well as our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ELGAtlanta/ Lizzy Fountain Volunteer Coordinator - Extra Life Atlanta Guild JustALizzy@gmail.com Volunteer Sign Up Page Here.
  16. 2 points
    Hi everybody, my name is Jenn and John told me about his joining of extra life. I think it would be really cool to see what you guys are up to, so here I am! I heard Awesome con was fun. I'd love to come to the next meetup or whatever you guys have planned. I heard there is a discord also, and I'd be happy to join that and pop in to say hi sometime. Thanks for hearing me out! ~Jenn
  17. 2 points
    70 signups today at Game Masters, thanks for all the hard work!
  18. 2 points
    Harebrained Schemes, the studio behind the digital revival of Shadowrun as a turn-based strategy RPG, has returned, and this time they aim to revitalize mechanized turn-based strategy with Battletech. The company touts the project as "the first turn-based tactical mech combat PC game in over 20 years" which seems like a bit of a stretch, but Harebrained Schemes' track record with turn-based strategy is reason alone to get excited. Battletech casts players as the leader of a mercenary company that uses mechs to wage battles for whoever has money. Out on the edges of civilization, players will have to negotiate contracts for their crew, keep everyone alive, and also put a dethroned monarch back onto her galactic throne. Harebrained Schemes began working on Battletech after a successful Kickstarter raised well over its $250,000 goal to raise almost $2.8 million. The studio has a history of vastly successful crowdfunding campaigns, with each of the last four games finding additional funding on Kickstarter. The fact that backers have continued to support them over several releases indicates that they're incredibly good at pitching interesting game concepts and ultimately delivering satisfying experiences. Battletech will release on April 24 for PC. View full article
  19. 2 points
    After the completion of the 4th annual Extra Life United event, my family and I are in awe of all the Extra Life community has accomplished. I wanted to write and share this note on behalf of the Enmon family. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU Extra Life GAMERS! Somehow these words just do not seem to be adequate enough to thank you for all that you have done and continue to do for Extra Life. The amount of money that was raised this year was phenomenal – Eleven million plus is just amazing. We never could have dreamt that “the little girl from Orange, Texas would leave such an amazing legacy”. Our family had such a wonderful time meeting so many new gamers, returning gamers, spectators, and their families at Extra Life United at Children's Hospitals Week. What a year for amazing things to happen - raising eleven million plus dollars in 2017; raising $40,000 at Extra Life United leaving Jeromy Adams speechless on stage, as well as having in attendance a Cow, Fairy, Unicorn, Dinosaur, a bottle of Hot sauce and many illuminating hairstyles! WOW just WOW, all of this and more will be cherished and remembered. As we reminisce about the past years, we cannot help but continue to thank Jeromy Adams and his family for his Dream! What a dream ride it has been and continues to be! We can only imagine what the future will hold for Extra Life and #forthekids. We want to send a great big THANK YOU from the bottom of our hearts to Liz, Mike, Lou, Jeromy and staff for planning such a wonderful event. To Tori’s Angels, we say THANK YOU, for providing your expertise to the process and to the event to ensure that it ran smoothly. Our family has discussed the event in great detail and we have an announcement. This year the Enmon Family will be awarding ELU Scholarships to applicants, to help defer some cost of the Extra Life United / Children's Hospitals Week trip in 2019! We hope that by helping in different ways, that perhaps some of the burden will be lifted for those who may otherwise be unable to make it to ELU in 2019. We will keep you posted as details become available. Thank you again for all of the love you continue to give to our family. Victor & Jo Ellen Enmon Christin & Justin Hommel, Corbin and Adilyn James and Stormy Enmon
  20. 2 points
    I keep forgetting to post this. We met this awesome chick at ReplayFX in Pittsburgh when she came up to our table. I told her I had to get her photo so I could post it here. So I do have her permission but not her name. If this is you, say hello! You rock!
  21. 2 points
    The Official Extra Life Stream Team Weekly Schedule Find out when your favorite Extra Life streamer is streaming on the Official Extra Life Twitch Channel. You can learn more about each streamer or send them a private message by hovering over or clicking on their @name. Support our streamers by clicking on the links to their Extra Life participant page or their personal Twitch channel. Be sure to read the details and apply today! ALL TIMES ARE EASTERN US TIME UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED *Spanish Language
  22. 2 points
    Last year I promised to get a tattoo if I reached my goal. So I did. My wife also decided she wanted the same thing (her 13th). And this year I decided to do the same thing if I meet my goal. "Missouri is #1 flyover state" - Jabroni Times
  23. 1 point
    The deep sea survival game Subnautica is free for a limited time through the Epic Games Launcher. This follows closely on the heels of Epic's announcement of an Epic digital distribution service that begins with their launcher. And even better? Epic says they will be releasing a free game every two weeks until the end of 2019! Subnautica debuted to the world four years ago as an Early Access title through Steam. After years of additional development, the seafaring title released fully in January of this year. The game places players in a dire survival scenario: Their spaceship has crashed, seemingly with all hands either lost or dead. Players end up having to fend for themselves on an uncharted ocean world. Securing resources, salvaging gear, upgrading equipment, researching upgrades, and constructing a base of operations all become engrossing activities. It only recently launched on consoles, and unfortunately the free version seems to be exclusive to PC for now. Announced via Epic Games, the company has launched its year-long free game service with Subnautica, an offer which will disappear on December 27 to be replaced by a new free title. The service itself is free - all that you need to do to download the free biweekly game is to download the Epic Games Launcher and download the free title from there. From that point on, it's yours to keep with no strings attached. While a schedule of the games coming to the platform have yet to be announced, we do know that the next game heading to Epic users for free will be Team Meat's classic platformer Super Meat Boy. This move to distribute free games doesn't come out of the goodness of Epic Games' heart, however. The company is making an effort to capitalize on the 200 million people who play Fortnite through their service, a number that absolutely dwarfs juggernauts of the industry like Steam, which boasted a record 18.5 million users in January of this year. If even 10% of Epic's user base begins to use Epic Games as their go-to digital platform of choice, things could really begin to shake up in the slowly crowding digital distribution market. Undoubtedly, the allure of free games for an entire year will keep people opening up the Epic Games platform and building a collection of titles that could potentially include a few games they picked up on the storefront beyond the free games. It's a perfect way to rope in people who are already playing Fortnite and bring in new blood who want free games. Overall, this will likely accelerate some degree of competition between the biggest digital storefronts like Steam, Good Old Games, and Origin. With free games bringing in users and a better cost sharing arrangement than other platforms, Epic really does have a shot at securing a spot as not one of the most used but the most used digital games platforms in the world. This could be the beginning of an entirely different digital ecosystem. Be sure to grab Subnautica on PC before December 27! Don't forget to sign up for Extra Life to help sick and injured kids in hospitals around the US and Canada by playing games!
  24. 1 point
    Epic Games is rolling in cash courtesy of Fortnite, the cool thing the kids are playing these days (or so some cool kids tell me). What exactly has it done with all of that moola? Use it to start a digital storefront designed to compete with the likes of Steam and Good Old Games. "For the past five years, we've been building tools enabling Epic to bring our games directly to players. We built the Epic Games launcher on PC and Mac featuring Fortnite and Unreal Engine; we built a worldwide digital commerce ecosystem supporting dozens of payment methods; and we gained great economies of scale thanks to Fortnite's growth," said Tim Sweeney in his initial announcement of the Epic Games Store. All of this has put Epic Games on track to launch their storefront. The main selling point that Epic Games wants everyone to be aware of is their dedication to showing fairness to developers who sell games on their platform. A major part of their announcement states that all developers will earn 88% of the revenue from sales on the Epic Games Store, a piece of information that was accompanied by a chart comparing an their 12-88 revenue split to Steam's 30-70 (or 30-55 in some cases) split. The graphic also makes it clear why Epic Games is pursuing a piece of the digital distribution market: Devs that make use of Unreal Engine 4 automatically pay 5% of their game's revenue to Epic, but if Epic sells those games on their own platform, they can up that cut to 12% regardless of game engine, all while getting good PR for sharing more revenue with developers who sell through their store. It's a win-win relationship for Epic and those who sell through them. Given that Epic now has strong ties to an entire generation of gamers through Fortnite and the Epic Games launcher, this makes complete sense. They have the technological infrastructure, a readily available pool of customers, and the unique position to reap larger profits while attracting more developers. Another benefit will be a more curated atmosphere that lacks on a service like Steam that has already opened the development floodgates for practically anything to make it onto the platform. Sweeney wrote that the service will help devs reach their players by giving users a newsfeed that will update with information and updates from developers. Developers will also be able to reach out to streamers, vloggers, and bloggers through Epic's Support-A-Creator program to help get the word out about up-and-coming indies. The somewhat murky part of this is that through this program content creators will be able to receive a cut of the revenue (determined by the developer) from purchases made using their referral links. The first 24 months of the service will see Epic Games covering the first 5% of the revenue shared with content creators, so that's pretty neat. Sweeney's announcement was a bit lacking in details regarding exactly when the service would launch, though more details will be coming on Thursday, December 6 during The Game Awards. The Epic Games Store will first launch for PC and Mac before spreading to Android devices and beyond over the next year. Are you excited for a new digital store in the mix? Is a bigger revenue share for the devs enough of an incentive for you as a customer to switch over to Epic? Don't forget to sign up for Extra Life to help sick and injured kids in hospitals around the US and Canada by playing games!
  25. 1 point
    Cool, sorry, i didn't get e-mail alerts about your edits otherwise I would have stopped back in to help. Glad you got it closer to what you're looking for
  26. 1 point
    So i know it's last minute, and only half the functionality, but I have something that writes out the text files like it did on the previous version. It doesn't have any of the alert functionality, but has all the same text files as the previous version. You'll need to install node from nodejs.org, download the zip from http://bfin.beer/EL2018.zip and check out the readme inside for specific info. Let me know if something's broken.
  27. 1 point
    I took a few classes a while back, unfortunately they were pretty light on JavaScript. I'll see if I can figure it out though. Thanks again - and hey maybe an idea to add images for a future build. Thanks again for all of your help and good luck with this years stream!
  28. 1 point
    You are absolutely missing out if you haven't tried Epistory: Typing Chronicles yet. It is an indie, low-budget typing-based game that isn't on rails. It has a fairly large world map to explore, a boatload of optional content to discover, and features a gorgeous, unique origami-based aesthetic where the game world literally unfurls around you. It's slower-paced overall like TOTD:OK, but makes up for it by makes your eyes move around the screen much more and having to stop and pick your chances to fight back against the swarm of insects coming to ruin your day. It has an adaptive difficulty that will match your typing speed and accuracy, making it challenging but fair to all skill levels. Try finding the nest that throws Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis or Aequeosalinocalcalinoceraceoaluminosocupreovitriolic at you. And it's extremely family friendly! I honestly think playing that game will drastically change your opinions of TOTD:OK. In my opinion, It doesn't do the typing well, it doesn't do the horror well, and it doesn't do much else. If you want a fast-paced, high action, typing-shooter hybrid arcade game, you want Typing of the Dead. The original. In my opinion, TOTD:OK is far too slow paced and repetitive, and the only thing it does better than Typing of the Dead is be available -- which is, sadly, perhaps the most important thing to do well. TOTD:OK is on Steam. TOTD requires a DreamCast and a DreamCast keyboard. Good luck with that! If the game -is- difficult and fast-paced enough for you, your opinion is going to vary wildly from mine -- but I also think it means you should give Epistory a try, and at least go watch some footage of the original if you can't get your hands on it. But as a speedrunner, who loves when games give me 'input breaks' where I don't have to do anything, this game was great, because there is a lot of downtime. I don't think you have to be offended by f-bombs and gratuitous, over-the-top-even-if-campy horror and gore to be offended by by main characters calling physically disabled people "cabbages" and "cripples" more than once. But even if you're here for the bad jokes, campiness, over-the-top lampooning of the horror genre as a whole, if the gameplay itself is slow and plodding and can't keep up, you're honestly left with a game with big boobs, big explosions, and vegetable jokes -- and there must be better ways to get that type of entertainment than with this video game. There was a time where the only thing I would stream are typing games and typing game speedruns, but once I unified the world record for all three TOTD games (for all of 12 hours), I dropped the game like a bad habit.It just isn't fun. It's too slow. It's too easy. It's way too repetitive. The original TOTD is worthy of GOAT consideration, at least in the "typing game" genre and maybe in the "arcade-style shooter" genre as well. But it's what modern typing games -- what few there are -- compare themselves to. Not TOTD:Overkill. Typing of the Dead, because it has name recognition and it's the game people remember playing.
  29. 1 point
    I look forward to this bump every year! While I love the official tool too now, I actually like to run both. I use the official XSplit extension for my team info and the Breadalert (yes, we should really coin that term) for my own personal fundraising.
  30. 1 point
    Hello, I am a Senior at Prairie Ridge High School, in the school's capstone Engineering class, Engineering Design and Development (PLTW). My group has chosen to work on a product for people that can't use or have trouble using standard controllers. Our first step in the engineering process is to validate the problem exists. Seeing as Extra Life is such a large organization for the niche we are looking into, we would like your help in getting a simple Google form out to the people this charity benefits. If anyone could share out this form to any gamers that are physically disabled, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Nate Link Link to Google form: https://goo.gl/forms/2TL2egC3kLSHE42O2
  31. 1 point
    This also lives on your Dashboard > "Go Social" > Email Badge
  32. 1 point
    Hey Mish! Thanks for the post and suggestion. This not currently an integration available, but I'll add this to a potential feature request for future consideration!
  33. 1 point
    Extra Life Kansas City Guild Meeting Notes September 12th at the Game Cafe Game Day is November 3rd TOP INFO: KC Ren Fair this weekend! Guild Information: 1) We increase funds and awareness for local children's hospitals 2) Together we Save kids' lives through rallying and connecting local 3) Purpose of the Guild is to Register, Fund Raise, and Get Social! 4) Check out the Handbook and Guild Improvements MAIN DISCUSSION: -Upcoming Events: Kansas City Ren Fair, Trader's Cache opening, Viking Con and Extra Life Night at Pawn and Pint. -Don't forget about our cool new swag! These will be pins that we can share with people who contribute to our cause! The details are as follows: RECRUIT: Unlocked by Registering SHARE: Unlocked by sharing an official Extra Life social media post! DONATE: Unlocked by donating at an event BE A HERO FOR THE KIDS: Unlocked by registering, sharing and donating. This shield pin is for unlocking all three! VOLUNTEER EVENTS: REN FEST! Extra Life Organizer: Sean A. Location and times: September 15th and 16th 10AM to 7PM. Notes: Need Extra Volunteers for Sunday Sign up below or on Facebook! VIKING CON AT MISSOURI VALLEY COLLEGE Extra Life Organizer: Rashida Location and times: September 24th, at Missouri Valley College Notes: We are visiting Missouri Valley College again this year! Please share the public event! TRADER'S CACHE Extra Life Organizer: Jessie Location and times: October 5th, 7PM to 11PM at Trader's Cache in Lawrence Kansas Notes: It's a board game bar in Lawrence that is opening up soon. This is a pre-grand opening event. KCGAMEON! Extra Life Organizer: Jessie Location and times: October 13th noon to 9PM Notes: Unofficial GameDay with KC Game On! Sign up below or on Facebook! FUNDRAISING EVENTS: EXTRA LIFE NIGHT AT PAWN AND PINT Extra Life Organizer: Todd/Christiy Location and times: September 26th, 4-11pm at Pawn and Pint Notes: We will have a table for recruiting new members to the Guild, while Todd/Christiy raise fund for the Hospital. Please sign up to Volunteer at the booth, or just show up and play some games. Please share the public event! HARRY POTTER PAINT NIGHT Extra Life Organizer: Brie and Lora Location and times: October 4th, 7PM at Pinot's Palette Notes:This is just a fundraising event, not a volunteer event. For tickets contact Brie or Lora. Next meeting Date: Next meeting is Wednesday, October 10th at 6:30PM
  34. 1 point
    I'm sorry for being very inactive lately when it comes to meetings or raising money, my mind has been elsewhere. My baby girl Olivia Ray was born on June 12th 2018 at 3:40am and it was possibly the scariest 24hrs of my entire life. When she was born she had the umbilical chord wrapped around her neck and wasn't breathing when she came out. They instantly bagged her forcing air into her lungs to get her to start breathing and rushed her up to the NICu, I went with her and watching them stick things everywhere and hook all these wires up to her, I felt so helpless. He was moving her limbs and she was pretty much limp with the occasional movements. For anyone familiar with APGAR scores, hers were all 0 at birth. They placed her on the CPAP machine to help her breath. She spent quite a bit of time on that and we could only see her occasionally because they were very closely monitoring her. They found that she had a pneumothorax in her right lung and needed to stick a needle in her chest to relieve the pressure and make sure her lung didn't collapse. Once they did that she recovered rather well and didn't need the CPAP machine anymore and they put her on high flow oxygen. She is quite the little fighter though because she spent some time on that to get her breathing regular and she resolved the air on her left side all by herself and we got to take her home on June 14th! So all in all it has been one of the scariest/most satisfying times of my entire life. My wife got induced on 6/10 and we didn't get to leave until the 14th but she just had her first doctors appointment today and she is recovering and doing so well since the time she was born. She weighed 7lbs 9oz and was 20 inches long. It is now July 9th and in a few days she'll be a month old and she is a happy, healthy baby.
  35. 1 point
    Thanks for the reply. That's really great that this program is able to pass on 100% to the hospitals!
  36. 1 point
    hi all! perhaps it's a bit early in the year for introductions, but the lovely guys at the Extra Life booth at Too Many Games hooked me as I passed by last weekend, and i'm very glad they did! i've been wanting to participate in Extra Life for years, so no time like the present! my name is sarah (she/her). i'm a 31 year old transplant to Delco, originally from WV, and have played games since i could hold an Atari joystick. i am looking forward to getting as involved with Extra Life as I can and meeting some great folks, so let me know if there's anything i can do to help - special areas of expertise include writing, editing, and document layout/design, but i also make an excellent warm body at events! wonderful to meet y'all!
  37. 1 point
    Hi! My name is Russ, and I'm 32. I'm currently living in Fort Worth, TX and working for Cook Children's Hospital in Fort Worth. I haven't started streaming too much yet, but hope to do some more, especially for Extra Life! I play just about anything on any console, and recently finished God of War on PS4! Hoping to get involved with Extra Life here in FW and meet a lot of people.
  38. 1 point
    Hey, everyone! My name is Teddy Wilson. I work for the Microsoft Store at the Walden Galleria as a gaming expert. I was wondering if we, as a company, could help out with events if you guys needed it.
  39. 1 point
    Extra Life Tabletop Appreciation Weekend It's a common misconception that Extra Life is solely a video game marathon, when in reality, we had over 15,000 people participate by playing tabletop games just last year. We’re excited to announce that August 25-26 we'll be hosting our fourth annual Extra Life Tabletop Appreciation Weekend! Think of Tabletop Appreciation Weekend as the pre-party for the crazy fun that will go down on Game Day on Nov. 3. Thousands of our #EXTRALIFETabletop supporters will be creating Extra Life teams, playing their favorite games and sharing Extra Life with their friends and fans. Join us in recognizing tabletop players everywhere for their relentless support in helping raise $40 million since 2008. Here's how you can participate: Make The Pledge Register for Extra Life 2018 and make the pledge to Play Games, Heal Kids Tell your community Host a tabletop event the weekend of August 25- 26 for your friends & community Help heal kids Ask for donations to support sick and injured kids at your local children's hospital Join! Fill out the form below to Grab the event's official Social Media Badge!
  40. 1 point
    William Pugh is by far one of my favorite persons in this industry. He provided my one of my first and favorite interviews. Actually for a community based article for Extra Life (that @Jack Gardner graciously edited) I can't share the best parts of my interview unfortunately, not in this forum, but my he is a trip.
  41. 1 point
    Reminds me of the old Game and Watch gameboy game. I play that cartridge so much that it just doesn't work anymore good stuff though
  42. 1 point
    Humble Book Bundle - Classic Sci Fi & Fantasy https://www.humblebundle.com/books/classic-scifi-and-fantasy-books?partner=144206
  43. 1 point
    Humble Bundle - May 2018 Humble Monthly https://www.humblebundle.com/monthly?partner=144206
  44. 1 point
    Hi Erin! I'm glad to hear that the PDX guild is getting some wind in the sails. 2018 will be my third year participating. I've never been part of a fundraising team, but I managed to raise $1000 by myself last year, and I'd love to collaborate with local folks for the first time for Doernbecher's!
  45. 1 point
    I have a million questions about my game day stream. Are there any kind souls willing to help?
  46. 1 point
    March 27, 2018 628 Madison Ave Albany, NY 6:30PM Or you can join us on our Guild Discord Server if you can't be there in person. https://discord.gg/MG4Sn7H Don't Forget we have a Facebook Page now as well... Just look for Extra Life Albany Guild. (I can't link while I am at work) Agenda: Extra Life United Why Do you Extra Life? Radio Thon Summer Hospital Tour Empire State Comic Con Old Business New Business Post Meeting Gaming
  47. 1 point
    The size of the EL community has also grown nearly exponential over the last several years. What if they were to do a trial run with a limited amount of merch and when it's gone it's gone, to "test the waters" again and see if there is enough interest.
  48. 1 point
    Hey everyone, Matt Tucker sent me the list of dates for this years Extra Life Lan Parties at Skyline. This is just a short list of dates. I am working with Matt to see if we can get this on a web page somewhere so we have a more centralized place to put this info. Of course, we are going to have to miss the first Lan since it is during Awesomecon John Month Date Event March 30th 6PM SkyLAN Q1 April 27th 6PM SkyLAN Mini 1 May 25th 6PM SkyLAN Mini 2 June 29th 6PM SkyLAN Q2 July 27th 6PM SkyLAN Mini 3 Aug 31st 6PM SkyLAN Mini 4 Sept 28th 6PM SkyLAN Q3 Nov 3rd-4th Extra Life 2018
  49. 1 point
    Hi/Hello, My name is Troy Starrett, and I recently moved to the PNW from sunny New Mexico, for better work opportunities. I first got involved with Extra Life through the Sarcastic Gamer community in 2010. This is my 9th year participating in the charity. I was previously raising money for the University of New Mexico Children's Hospital, because they were local, and they helped both of my daughters with medical emergencies shortly after they were born. I decided this year, since I was joining the Seattle Guild, that I should raise money for Seattle Children's Hospital (although it still feels a little bit weird). I sincerely look forward to working with all of you for this amazing cause. Cheers!
  50. 1 point
    Article written by Sid Wing, a fourth-year participant who plays for Children's of Alabama. Some have asked - "Why do you do this 'ExtraLife' thing?" For kids like my Grand-nephew Cyrus. Last year he celebrated his 3rd Birthday, began attending developmental preschool, and took his first steps! None of this would have even been possible with out Monroe Carell Jr Children's Hospital. Who knows what amazing things will happen for him THIS year! At 28 weeks gestation, we learned that Cyrus had a “constellation of defects” that pointed to a genetic disorder. His mom, my neice, had to have an amnio-reduction procedure at Vanderbilt two weeks later, in order to avoid amniotic fluid-related complications. At the same time, the team took extra fluid in order to determine whether there was a genetic cause for Cyrus’ many defects. Cyrus was born by emergency C-section on October 22, 2013. He had an APGAR score of 2. The NICU had already been alerted about his condition, and we already had a team dedicated to each of his systems. The entire medical staff there were attentive, supportive, and collaborative with us regarding his care and treatment. There was no stone left unturned; because of Monroe Carell Jr Children’s Hospital, Cyrus, for whom the chromosomal anomalies should have been a death sentence, is alive to celebrate his third birthday and reach new milestones.
×
×
  • Create New...